A day in the City

It is all happening here in Melbourne. Cricket-Australia v England. Tennis-Australian Open. Australia Day and Chinese New Year and of course our summer holiday time.

I gave myself an art date yesterday, meaning, now and then we all should take time out for ourselves and do something that pleases us so I took my camera and went to my beautiful City of Melbourne.

It was a beautiful summer day with a cool breeze. The City was alive with visitors from interstate and overseas. There were buskers of all types and descriptions in the Bourke Street Mall.  There was a piano in our beautiful city square. It was there for anyone to play; the sign on it said ‘I am yours-play me’ . The square has slim gum trees; they have been yarn bombed in the most beautiful colours and patterns. My camera ran hot, I must have taken over 100 photos, a truly magic day…then…

Get home, plug camera into computer and bam, alakazam, yet again between camera and computer most of my photos disappear into mystery land. This is the third time it has happened. I have a theory and that is when I try to transfer a large amount all at once is when this happens. If anyone can enlighten me further I would much appreciate it. I have a photo recovery program but even that didn’t help. Sadness, frustration followed but in the big scheme of life they are only photos so…

These are some of the salvaged ones:

Hosier Lane is our wonderful graffiti area. Unfortunately we do have those irresponsible tagging vandals but it doesn’t take away from the amazing look of the lane and the fantastic art work.  Just as well photos don’t have the smell. Most of the laneways in Melbourne have the huge bins for businesses and although the bins are emptied regularly they are not exactly smelling of roses but that is only a very small area of this particular lane.

Every visit to the City I visit the laneway and every time I take photos. I have posted them many times but this time I found something that interested me even more. I have thought recently about ‘texture’; photographing texture, printing them on a substrate and doing a black pen drawing over it. So this is what transpired.

IMG_5663 (Small) IMG_5667 (Small) IMG_5674 (Small) IMG_5681 (Small) IMG_5662 (Medium)

 

These are some of the wonderful pieces in the lane. Such vibrant colours.When I got up close and personal to see the vibrancy of each colour when it came to me to take close up shots and this is the result:

IMG_5705 (Small) IMG_5706 (Small) IMG_5685 (Small) IMG_5686 (Small) IMG_5687 (Small) IMG_5688 (Small) IMG_5690 (Small) IMG_5691 (Small) IMG_5692 (Small) IMG_5693 (Small) IMG_5699 (Small) IMG_5700 (Small)

IMG_5704 (Small)

 

 

I could have done a better job, they are blurry at the top and I would have preferred not to have the light on them (I could manipulate that part maybe). I am not a professional anything but I do like to play and learn. There seems endless possibilities for these shots, they seem almost lunar like. I have higher resolution in these so if anyone would like some I can send them to you.

The graffiti covers a garage door, again the close ups have potential:

IMG_5677 (Small) IMG_5675 (Small) IMG_5676 (Small)

I walk – I look – I see – I stop – I photograph

Leon Levinstein 1955

 

 

2 thoughts on “A day in the City

  1. Graffiti in our parts are not appreciated although there are ‘some’ buildings that aren’t erased. I am in awe of this art because (1) I am not capable and (2) because I wonder how anyone up so close to it keeps the right perspective so the painting is all in proper scale.
    Sorry about the black photo hole between your camera and computer. Hope you find a fix.
    Thanks for sharing the photos. I have enjoyed them.

  2. Terrific macro shots! They give a whole new character to your finds.

    I have had many similar and very frustrating adventures with my digital downloading of photos and don’t know what’s up either! Now that I’ve finally joined the present age by getting a cell phone that has a camera, I can at least trust that what I shoot with *that* will go directly to my PhotoStream so I’ll have a hope of seeing it again. Sigh. Some things technology hasn’t quite perfected in my life just yet! 🙂
    xo

Comments are closed.