Indoor Plant

I have my writing blog but I thought this piece I wrote some time ago should be here. I wonder if Annabella had any thoughts like this although I do know she never wants to go outside again!      ps…I cannot figure out how to make the poetry single line, can anyone help?

INDOOR PLANT                                

If I stretch way up high, I can nearly see the sky.

Oh – how I want to be out there, to play in the sun and feel the air.

I know – I’ll pretend to be ill

and go all limp on the windowsill.

Here she comes – Is it going to work?

Yes! She’s feeling round my dirt.

I peak at her furrowed brow,

She’s thinking hard – She’s lifting me now.

Yes! Yes! We’re walking out the door.

Oh! – I will love her forever more…but

Better wait till she goes away before I smile and dance and sway.

If she sees – I might go inside again

where it’s boring and lonely and such a pain.

Inside – I’m never told a story,

But out here – I’m in my glory.

Wind whispers secret words.

Stories I’m told by well-travelled birds.

Gossip I love from – my new friend ant.

I DON’T WANT TO BE AN INDOOR PLANT!

Wait a minute…… what say you lark?

I won’t enjoy the creepy dark?

Nothing to see, nothing to do?

Oh! Oh! – That’s something I never knew.

Mmmmm, better go all limp again

and get inside by the window pane

where inside light is safe and sound,

whew! Glad I don’t live in the ground.

I don’t know – where is best?

Indoor or outdoor?….. Both I guess.

Yes! That’s the answer – there’s no doubt

NIGHT TIME IN – DAY TIME OUT.

2 thoughts on “Indoor Plant

Comments are closed.