The Oxford Nursery Rhyme Book

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Oxford Nursery Rhyme Book (Large)

 

I rediscovered this book buried in my library this morning. Here are a few of the more ‘stranger’ ones.

We had hail stones here today that looked like snow (pics on my other blog www.supposerose.wordpress.com so this little rhyme is appropriate in a way.

 

 

Snow, Snow faster,

Ally-ally-blaster;

The old woman’s plucking her geese,

Selling the feathers a penny a piece.

 

 

Bat, bat, come under my hat,

And when I bake, I’ll give you a cake,

If I am not mistaken

 

Ladybird, Ladybird,

Fly away home,

Your house is on fire

And your children all gone;

All except one

And that’s little Ann

And she has crept under

The warming pan.

 

There was an old woman called Nothing-at-all

Who lived in a dwelling exceedingly small

A man stretched his mouth to its utmost extent

And down at one gulp, house and old woman went.

 

There was an old woman, her name was Peg;

Her head was of wood and she wore a cork leg.

The neighbours all pitched her into the water,

Her leg was drowned first, and her head followed after.

 

There was an old crow

Sat upon a clod

That’s the end of my song

–          That’s odd.

 

And last one…

Eye winker

Tome tinker

Nose smeller

Mouth eater

Chin chipper

Guzzlewopper

 

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iona_and_Peter_Opie

All just a slice of fun and nostalgia, although I never heard these strange ones when I was a child.

 

