Brown Paper Bag Book

I was looking for a recipe in my messy cupboard when my brown paper bags spilled out.  ‘Lunch Time Recipes’ came to me … book? Why not I thought, so let’s forget about the recipe I was looking for and the food I was going to cook. That is how creativity works, either not there at all or bang, must do it now.

I am not an avid cook, let’s face it I don’t even like cooking so actual recipe’s were not for this book. I pondered on what I could do. What do we put into a brown paper bag…sandwiches, and so it began.

IMG_5134 (Medium)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I folded each bag in half with the openings on opposite sides. Punched 5 holes into the spine and stitched pamphlet style (directions are in the book).

I have written all the recipes but only started filling the pockets with the first piece which is sharing your sandwich with the sparrows. I had tried to sketch sparrows in the wild in the past but they were too quick unless I nailed their feet to the ground….that’s not nice). So I took photos instead. I drew some of these little ones from the photos, others I just ‘doodled’ them along. I don’t say they are great but what I will say is I had lots of fun. I decided to just cut all my practice birds out and put them into the pocket. I am spontaneous in my art so to play around with practice then sit down and do it all again is not my way. They may not be great but I feel they have that playful look. I did print my favourite one out just onto computer paper and added him (he is the big boy), unfortunately I chopped his legs off…oops sorry big boy.

IMG_5135 (Medium) IMG_5141 (Large) IMG_5142 (Large)

The blue coloured fellow just didn’t look like a sparrow. By the time he came along the sandwich pieces were all gone so he took the paper bag. I couldn’t help more play so made another bird with paper clip legs and yet another from a book page. The miniature bag you see has a tiny plastic bag in it with what looks like pieces of the sandwich I was sharing with the sparrows. Added some feathers, not sparrows, they are a bit hard to come across.

 

These are the other pages. The day ran out, I had take away and the rest of play will have to wait for another day.

This book is not intended to be anything else but play. I do small workshops and that is my aim to teach people to relax and play. One gets the best surprises.

 

Homeless and Beach Neighbour and orchard Whole afternoon to yourself Whole afternoon 2 Directions

2 thoughts on “Brown Paper Bag Book

  1. This is wonderful! Your post brought a smile to my face. I love the idea of paper bag book (I wish we had that kind of paper bags here too). Your birds are beautiful, and I love what you did with the book! What a great idea! I agree with you about the creativity. When it hits, one must reply to it. lol!

  2. Thank you Sonja. I am having fun with this piece. I treated it from the beginning as ‘play’ and sometimes that makes all the difference.

Comments are closed.