Element doll

Here are my balls of wool (well…some of it) transformed into what I have called ‘Envo earth boy’

Envo Earth Boy

His dreadlocks or (rasta)

He is here by the skin of his teeth I tell you. Both wools are a nightmare to knit with. Green hairy just loved to tangle, multicolour just knotted without me touching it (I could feel the mischief as soon as I took the wrapper off). They did everything they could to make my life a misery. Who said I don’t swear? @#$%&^.

I was excited knitting him though because as usual, what was in my head had nothing to do with how he wanted to be so I just went with the flow (except for the swearing). To sew him up was just as bad, not being able to see the stitches through the fuzz and tangles, both wools did a good job of hiding the spaces I wanted to go through; but he is worth it.

Why Element doll? As soon as my daughter saw it she said, “Oh, he looks like one of the elements – he is earth.” Straight away I saw fire, water, and air. What a great idea, thank you my darling daughter. I wonder what will come from that…please, not more tangled wool…mmmm.

I am amazed that I am still knitting; it is usually only in the winter, but the bug has got me and unlike the ‘old days’ there is air-conditioning how so it is easier…no sweaty hands.

Outdoor knitting

More outdoor knitting - I will have to try it

Who did this as a child?

Knitting Nancy -This is one of my daughters and I still play with it

Hope you enjoyed some of the above photos…

“Heirloom” is knitting code for “This pattern is so difficult that you would consider death a relief. ~Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, At Knit’s End: 

Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much . If you go to Amazon (again-but I love it as you can see snippets of books to help you decide on them). You can see a little of this book : http://www.amazon.com/At-Knits-End-Meditations-Women/dp/1580175899

Happy knitting, happy doing, happy bubbling…happiness to all…

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Element doll

  1. OOOoooo, I’m with love with Earthie! He is sooo cute. Can’t wait to see the rest of the family. The old photographs are wonderful … always interest me. Happy New Year R. Rose! Hope 2012 is kind to you and you have a wonderful year. hugs, Donna

  2. I am one of these women… crazy with knitting… 🙂 I love so much… And you fascinated me once again, what a beautiful doll… The colours are amazing too. It really hits the name… Thank you dear Rosemary, Happy New Year, angels and muses be with you always, with my love, nia

  3. I love this knitted doll – what a great idea! I’ve never been able to manage knitting, something about using both hands at once is impossible for me, but I’ve always admired those who can!
    Olivia

    • It is funny isn’t it, how we can do so many things and yet just a few escape us. I cannot get a handle on crochet, I won’t give up but it just escapes me time and time again. Thank you for visiting me

      Rosemary …aka…randomrose http://www.randomrose.wordpress.com Happiness is….creating

      Reflections in lake sky and trees admiretheir own beauty

Comments are closed.