Busy but wonderful

What a busy but wonderful time I have had. I won’t bore you with day to day activities but the one thing I am happy about is, I did my first session with some beautiful high care ladies and gentlemen at a facility call Judge Book. I volunteer through my library which I have to say is one of the best libraries one can belong to: The Yarra Plenty Regional Library. I would need an hour to tell you all about their activities. They set up so many programs to help people enjoy reading. Many volunteers go to the homes of elderly people or people who cannot get out and about, find out what genre they like, choose books for them and deliver them to their home and in some cases read to them. I have chosen to do WOW (Words on Wheels). The library supplies me with a portable CD player and a kit on a theme I choose to do. I then add my touch and enjoy an hour or so telling stories, reciting poems, singing songs and sharing information, memories, laughter and fun.  My theme of course at this time of year was ‘Christmas’.

The lady in charge, Marion, is the nicest person. To see her with the residents is amazing. Marion stayed and joined in. There were about 12 wheelchair bound residents present. I decorated the table in a Christmas theme. I stole two branches from a pine tree at the local park. I did apologise to the tree and explained the reason. I am sure the tree gave up the branches happily.

I was nervous but excited and was hoping I would do o.k. so I would be invited back. By the end of the session we all decided we had a good time and yes, I can come back. I am thrilled. It doesn’t matter what I do in this world; thinking I may be helping somewhere, someone, somehow, I always find I get more out of it than I could put in. I had a ball. My next one in January I have chosen “Let’s have a cuppa). Beautiful old-fashioned table-cloth and pretty serviettes, special tea set and Marion said she will bake fresh scones whilst I am entertaining. Most of my ladies and gentlemen are in their 90’s, so past memories are a treasure. I am starting to gather bits and pieces now. Songs like ‘Tea for Two” maybe a little ‘Mad Hatter’s Tea Party’ etc. or ‘I’m a little teapot, short and stout…..     If anyone has any ideas or unique stories about having a cup of tea, I would love to hear from you.

Christmas has been and gone. Had a lovely time with the family, lots of cheer and food. Now I am busy organising to move. The rent is too high here now so I have to find somewhere else put down my roots, not sure where yet.

My Daughter, Son-in-law and grandchildren are coming back to Australia after many years overseas so I will fly to Sydney in February to visit them, so, busy times ahead. I am so excited to see them.

I haven’t done any art or craft but plenty is bubbling around in my head. I wonder what will pop out first.

Just been over to Nia’s blog http://photographyofnia.com/ where she has photographed some of her miniatures around her house. Poor Nia is grounded as she has broken her foot but she has found so many interesting blogs, music, other artists and inspirational objects around her home and through her window. Just goes to show us, there is so much one can do when grounded. As I looked at her beautiful miniatures I remembered a knitting book, borrowed from the library. with some ‘miniature knitting’

Clothesline Garland:  I love the words they have chosen…

‘Our clothesline garland has three Wee Striped Cardigans, two Wee Dot Jumpers, two Wee Striped socks, three Wee Dot socks, and two Wee dot hats.  These tiny articles of clothing will fit small dolls or make interesting ornaments. They make a charming wall decoration in the laundry room and a wee window treatment in a little girl’s room.

Clothesline Garland

How cute.

Happy New Year to you all.

4 thoughts on “Busy but wonderful

  1. You are an angel dear Rosemary… I read with my tears what you did in there… You are so beautiful. I am sure it would be so nice the next meeting too… I wished to be there too and join your lovely reading moments and listen to you as all of them…

    I hope and wish you can find a new house that you would love… It is always nice to move and to live in new places… And also it is great news your daugther comes back… I can see how busy your days…

    You are so nice… Thank you. You can’t believe but I have already knitted little things a few years ago… But I haven’t met before with this lady, seems she is amazing… I will visit her site. It would be so nice to knit something little again…

    Thank you dear Rosemary, you are such a beautiful blogger friend of mine… I wish you all the best… Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    • Thank you Nia, if you still have your miniature knitting, can you post pictures of it/them on your blog . I would love to see them. if not, I am looking forward to what you create next time. love and happiness to you randomrose xx

      Rosemary …aka…randomrose http://www.randomrose.wordpress.com Happiness is….creating

      Reflections in lake sky and trees admiretheir own beauty

  2. Sounds like you are busy busy busy. Your work is so needed and so appreciated and so very important. Unfortunately, we now become invisible as we age and our culture does not honour it’s elders which makes me terrible sad. My father was Chairman of the Board for Extended care in the Province of Alberta for sixteen years. Under his chair he built many hospitals which were way ahead of their time and included beautiful indoor parks, water features, spas, banking and beauty facilities, a ‘club’ which was open in the evenings and people could gather for a little drink if they chose. There was always a piano in the park area, the facilities had non denominational chapels and all in all they were the best thing out there in their day. Because of his passion I have always been aware of the needs of the elderly and have done a lot of work in that area as well. We all need to be loved and listened to and honoured. You will do a wonderful job at fulfilling those needs. As my parents aged and my Mamma suddenly took ill, I moved back to live with them and help with whatever it took to keep them in their own home. My Mamma passed away six months after I arrived, my Papa and I had three wonderful years together. It was both an honour and a priviledge to do this for my parents. They were 93 and 97 when they crossed over and had enjoyed an incredibly rich life. As good as these facilities are,I have seen many horror stories and if you are able to stay in your own home, it is in my opinion the best option. So, my dear, in my opinion you are doing one of the most needed and the most wonderful things you can possibly do .. and yes, we can still have fun as we age. I have met the most delightful people. I used to hold ‘tea parties’ for the elderly at my home on Vancouver Island. I had a collection of both mine and my Mamma’s hats and as the ladies arrived, they dawned a beautiful hat which somehow seemed to change the entire atmosphere. It also changed them and they became more animated and it brought back so many memories for many of them. PLUS, it was fun. Onto your other subject of moving … that is no fun at all. I hope you will be able to find a lovely place within your price range. Melbourne has become expensive along with the rest of the world. I’ll be interested to hear where you find something you like. And your family coming home .. how wonderful. You have much to look forward to. Can’t wait to see what you come up with creatively … Love the ‘little’ cloths on the line in the book. So, I had better stop babbling. Have a lovely day and take care. Thanks so much for visiting my blog R. Rose! Always a pleasure to have your words on my pages. Love, Donna

    • Thank you Donna for your lovely comments. I so loved your long conversation, heartwarming, interesting and it is like getting to know you even more. Your Father sounds a wonderful man. If I ever had to go into care, sounds like I will have to book early for your Dad’s kind of accommodation, there would be a line a mile long waiting to get in. It is so lovely to hear good stories of good families doing good things. As I said in my post, it never ceases to amaze me that sometimes such a small effort of doing something for someone else comes back a million times over in joy and unexpected pleasures. Your story of your Mum and Dad is a delight. It is obvious you have their genes, thank you for sharing. Your idea of hats is great. I am going to borrow it. I will see if I can manage that for my ladies and gentlemen. I agree with you, hats will be a good ‘memory’ prompt as in their era (er….and mine) hats were important, especially when we went to the city for the day (hat and gloves). My Nana and Mum used to dress up in their best Sunday clothes and we, as children had too as well. What a fantastic idea, thank you, thank you. Now I am excited…:). It is only 8am here and I want to run around and gather hats!Judge Book is also a lovely place with beautiful kept gardens then natural surrounds of nature as well. It is in Eltham which is still well wooded and village like. Donna, never stop ‘babbling’ as you put it. I made a coffee this morning and opened up my puter and there you were, ready with delightful conversation. How lucky am I love randomrose xx

      Rosemary …aka…randomrose http://www.randomrose.wordpress.com Happiness is….creating

      Reflections in lake sky and trees admiretheir own beauty

Comments are closed.