More extracts from ‘My Mothers Ways’

More on children:

I am actually going to use this one:

Here is a nice idea for icing a cake for a children’s party. Ice the cake in the usual way, then with a different coloured icing, mark the cake into as many sections as there are to be children, and write each child’s name in one of the sections.

I think children would love to see their names on the birthday child’s cake.

Dressed ready for a party

On knitting children’s clothes:

Before commencing to knit baby garments, dust the hands with lavender powder; the woollies will have a delightful fragrance when finished.

Little cuties

I just love this one:

Sew two buttons on the children’s house slippers, then paint them with luminous paint. The youngsters will have no trouble finding their slippers in the dark – in fact, they enjoy looking for them.

I could imagine this little one seeking out her slippers

Who has Christmas stories from their childhood that they would like to share? Cute, sad, funny etc.

I volunteer through my local library at aged homes. The program is called WOW (Words on wheels). I go to aged facilities for an hour or so once a month. I choose a theme each time, of course this one next week is Christmas. It is interactive so I take music, props, stories and poetry etc. I have a Teddy Bear called Kevin and Jemima Puddle duck, they come along as well.

Jemima and Kevin

So any stories you share and I think they are suitable for my themes, would it be o.k. if I relate them. I have chosen ‘high care’ patients with dementia etc. Somewhere in their mind I like to think they remember.

I am off now to see if I can load some more pics from Peak Hill. Call over if you have time supposerose.wordpress.com

Thank you all for such creative inspiration on your blogs.


4 thoughts on “More extracts from ‘My Mothers Ways’

  1. Don’t you just love these old books! Entertainment in and of themselves, as well as advice we can still use today. Adorable photographs of the children. hugs, Donna

    • Thanks Donna, I don’t know what I love bout this book more, the tips and ideas or the photographs, it is such a fun thing to share this book. love randomrose xx

      Rosemary …aka…randomrose http://www.randomrose.wordpress.com Happiness is….creating

      Reflections in lake sky and trees admiretheir own beauty

Comments are closed.