Barbed wire picket fence

This book is dedicated to the Refugees that come to my Country and are locked up and deprived of their freedom. Here in Australia we have the ‘The little white picket fence’

Symbolism

A picket fence, ideally white, is seen by some as a symbol of the ideal middle-class suburban life, with a family and children, large house and peaceful living. This stems from the fact that houses in quiet, middle-class neighborhoods often have a garden, which then is typically surrounded by a picket fence.

I feel the refugees look forward to that ‘picket fence’ of freedom and peace but it has barbs and blood and suffering. To them, as an Australian I say….sorry.

This is my book to them.

2 thoughts on “Barbed wire picket fence

  1. This is so impressive and so touching story dear Rosemary. You did a wonderful dedicated book for Refugees of Australia. This white fence and your illustrations impressed me so much. “Freedom in peace” how important for human world, especially for children… I loved what you did dear Rosemary, you have a wonderful heart. Thank you, with my love, nia

  2. Thank you Nia, I love my country but not always so proud of it. Sometimes I have to create something to make a statement. You always leave message that inspire me, your are a dear friend love r.rose

Comments are closed.