Number 23

Yesterday I spent the whole day with a dear friend who is also an artist. We love our get togethers; we swap ideas, talk inspiration, ogle over each others work (we always make sure we have some ‘show and tell’). It is amazing how we have such similar thoughts and feelings about our art yet our work is completely different which makes it all the more exciting. Such a magic, indulgent day. Thank you my dear friend Jill.

President Obama is visiting here in Australia, better shine up my coffee cups in case he comes visiting ย ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Number 23: Quite a curious little piece. ย I seem to have had something in most of them that prompts a beginning. This one is the photo of the tree fern. I started immediately putting it in a pot. The first was too small for the plant, the second was far to large, the third was down right ugly, nothing working until I listened carefully and, of course, not in a pot! In the bush. Wasn’t listening silly me. After that it all went smoothly. Once she was in the bush the animals came to see her. Again I was curious as I picked up a scrap of photo and saw a bird head and began to carve with the knife (into the zone I went with that knife of mine). finished and saw it was the head of a bird and the body of a kangaroo? – A kangabird? – birdakang? The very tiny pieces of photo at the very bottom I drew over with zig pen, they are tiny creatures and a mushroom (probably cannot see them on screen). Sun/moon and birds were added. The birds are a direct result of one of the paste papers. I had stamped a small piece of metal into tet piece when making it and when I looked this time I saw the shapes of strange birds.

What shall I call this piece? I thought Australia – Down Under as it looks like our dry bushlandย but looking a little deeper I feel it is: ย  ย THE GATHERINGย – The animals and birds are gathered to welcome the fern from pot to bushland where she belongs.

The Gathering

Number 24 scraps

Number 24 scraps

  • 2 x paste papers ย 1 x mauve, 1 x brown
  • 1 x scrap marble paper yellow with green
  • 1 x die cut wood pear drop shape
  • 1 x blue marble wrapping paper
  • 1 x strip frottage on rice paper
  • 1 x Kozo paper blue
Nia is inspiring me so much with her photos of her beautiful country I went back to look at mine. This is my first coffee in Istanbul.

Coffee with elegance

HAPPY CREATING EVERYONE AND MAY YOUR DAYS BE FILLED WITH PEACE AND HAPPINESS


7 thoughts on “Number 23

  1. Great piece again today R. Rose. Love the little flock of wildlife at the bottom of the page. How you see to do that is beyond me. The Turkish coffee cup made me swoon … it will take me days to recover now. On top of it all, I’m addicted to the coffee if it is anywhere near me. What a great shot. Catches all the atmosphere. Take care and have a lovely day. xxDonna

    • Yes, I am a coffee addict as well. Nia was right, the coffee was served to me at Grand Bazaar. I have always loved small things and doing small things and now that I am in a very small unit, it goes well, although, many, many small things add up to a big pile ๐Ÿ™‚
      I have my grandson with me for a sleepover tonight and tomorrow so my hello’s will be short and please excuse me it I don’t pop into your house. love r.rose

  2. The Gathering is so lovely and wonderfully designed. I loved the colours too… And how nice the title and the message of this. Seems that we both had a nice day with your friends, I just dreamed myself to be there and to have a cup of tea together… (Instead of Mr.Obama, I am sure you would be happy to see me there… ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Your coffee cup is amazing, is it porcelain in side… And the address should have been Grand Bazaar…. am I right? For a long time we have been talking to go to Grand Bazaar with my friend, but we want to go when the weather is fine… Thank you dear Rosemary, it is so nice to visit your creative world and to hear you… Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    • Of course I would rather you be here for coffee/tea, wouldn’t it be great if we could all get together for real, one never knows. Yes, the coffee was at Grand Bazaar and it was porcelain inside, what an experience it was, amazing. As I just said to Donna, I have my Grandson with me for a sleepover so I will just post today’s collage and forgive me if I don’t pop over to you. love r.rose

  3. This one is absolutely gorgeous, you are so talented. I wish you had an e-mail subscription button so that I wouldn’t miss any of your posts, hint hint! ๐Ÿ™‚ And get to putting some things online for sale dear lady, I would like a house full of your art on my walls!

    • Thank you so much. I will see what I can do with that email subscription button. Sometimes WordPress tricks my understanding but I am a Taurus so eventually I win ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you so much for your appreciation of my art, it is always an inspiration to keep going. cheers and happy creating to you

Comments are closed.