Number 6

Hi everyone, Happy Halloween if you are on the 31st. We didn’t celebrate Halloween here in Australia when I was a child but over the years it has grown with American influence. Mind you, in my childhood, travel and media of the world was not something that was ready available and in my small world America seemed to be on the moon it was that far far away. Mind you I have travelled to USA a few times and guess what? From here down-under, it is far far away but a great place to visit. I am going again in 2012.

It is fun to dress up and have weird food that you would not normally eat, like our bloodied vampire fingers and oh, the next day Michael suggested we have cut-off arms (is there something wrong with my nearly 8 year old Grandson?) Hash browns and fish fingers (yuk for me-fantastic for him) and of course blood sauce.

Halloween

I borrowed this picture from Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halloween Halloween is an interesting history, well, as in a lot of history the fact gets rather blurred. It seems it may derive from Celtic but I can’t say for sure, I wasn’t around then even though sometimes I feel like it…:))

Number 6. Oh, I did have fun with this. It came together so quickly and I was intrigued that it had children in it given it was a child…ie Michael who chose the papers. I had no idea what it wanted to be until I gathered them together and it was like a little magic jigsaw. I swear the pieces danced themselves around and in place. My natural method of working is by process. I am envious of people who see the finished product in their head before they start as I feel they have a beginning, a direction; I, on the other hand, have to make a mark and proceed from there, often hit and miss. On this particular piece it was such a thrill to almost see the whole thing from the beginning, very rare for me.

Summer sunset - children's delight at pantomime sky

I finished it and because there are so many tiny pieces used I had fragments laying all over the table. I am trying to whittle down my scraps so what is left has to go to the bin. Little brush and shovel at their station – hand action ready – Wait! Oh, look at that little piece, that looks like…oh and that and that. Oh dear here we go, randomrose out of control. I will bin them but I had to just do a little to them before the binning and here they are:

three second scribble and they couldn't hit the bin

o.k. Number 7

Raided my material scraps. I am not very good at textiles, paper is my thing. I have a dear girlfriend who is brilliant at textile, must post her wall hanging she did, amazing. She dyed every piece of material whether it was silk, cotton or whatever, it took her well over a year. Again, I digress…so…material for me is really a challenge.

Number seven

This is all a bit ambitious I think. Far too much for the small page but as I was packing up the bag the little framed acrylic painting fell out onto the pile so he must want to be in it…o.k. I am a softie, you can stay…gulp 😦
  • 1 x nosey framed painting
  • 1 x thick strand of green felting wool
  • 1 x tiny piece of black felting wool
  • 1 x brown cord
  • 1 x long odd shaped tie-dyed calico
  • 1 x stitched threads with dissolvable  fabric
  • 1 x handmade piece from calico, glue and thread and tyvek
  • 3 x little circles two gold one silver
  • 1 x strip of  burgundy velvet contact 
  • 1 x the necessary strip of paper – spray painted. I slipped this in to make me feel more comfortable.
Wow!, that a lot, will this be the failure I have been holding my breath about? No, no
FAILURE DEPENDS ON PERCEPTION
I will leave you with Emily Dickinson:
A word is dead
When it is said,
Some say.
I say it just
Begins to live
That day.
14 thoughts on “Number 6

  1. How Magical! LOVE it, as you say, especially as your grandson chose the pieces and it has to much ‘child’ in it. I never cease to be amazed at the creative process … like you .. I never see an end .. I barely see a beginning. When something wonderful happens and I am led by the hand, I mostly sit there with my mouth open, completely in awe, with ‘thank you’ bursting from my lips. I think that’s what keeps me coming back .. the surprises, and the mystery of it all. Interesting pics from your scrap bag today … another sorpresa awaits. The thrill of it all! :o) Donna

    • Thanks Donna, I agree with your comment of you sit in awe of how things happen, we don’t seem to have control of it, it controls us. I just think we are so lucky having been born with this wonderful gift of creating. I think everyone is born with some type of creativity, some people just don’t believe it which is a shame. I always try to encourage the ones that say “I can’t do anything”. I usually give them some coloured pencils or pretty paper and hope it will inspire.

  2. “Summer sunset – children’s delight at pantomime sky” I loved it so much… Inspirational too. Still I haven’t started to my project. Everyday I have something new in my mind… But at the end they will all be something I think. I really want to do something nice, and it will be the first time… But about materials… I think I will use different kind of things, we will see how it works… Thank you dear Rosemary, Have a nice and enjoyable weekend, Angels and Muses be with you always, with my love, nia

    • Hi Nia, Thank you for your kind words. I know what it is like when your mind is bubbling ideas but they just will not come out, not to worry, they will appear when they are ready. I have sent a little something in the mail, maybe it will inspire or maybe it will help your little bubble, bubble a little more :)) I hope you are keeping hard copies of all your writings and photos as they are a treasure. Your Son (children?) will love to remember you in many years to come. Love, happiness and fairy dust to you…

      Rosemary …aka…randomrose http://www.randomrose.wordpress.com Happiness is….creating

      Reflections in lake sky and trees admiretheir own beauty

    • Thank you Nia. Bubble bubble there will be no trouble when inspiration strikes one day, it will show you the how and show you the way. I always say when I have a lot of thinking and not actual doing that I am ‘bubbling’.

  3. Ah, I forgot to say this too, these poetical lines one of my favurites, how much I love Emily Dickinson… Thank you dear Rosemary, with my love, nia

  4. Dear Rosemary, today I did something. It was going fine BUT (it was my mistake) I wanted to use puzzle fix on my scrap page why, to be seen shine.. Oh dear what a big mistake! Becauase the papers didn’t like it. It was almost puffed up or waved… But this was my first experience and I learned today something too… And also my materials should be good for this work I understand this too. But all these things are a kind of practice… I think I will find my way soon… So, I will make another one soon… Thank you so much dear Rosemary, how you make me exciting with all these works… I wonder always what will be next… and now I am going to read and to watch number seven 🙂 Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    • Oh Nia, I know how you feel when the glue doesn’t work, it has happened to me so many times and still does from time to time. I agree it is all practice and sometimes happy accidents give you a new way of looking at things and sometimes we have to put it in the bin and start again. The thing with glues are the wetter they are the easier they will buckle the paper that is why a glue stick is good. When I was in Istanbul I bought so many wonderful pencils and pens. The price was so much better than Australia. You have such good stationery shops. I also loved your little streets of scarves, then another little street of underwear then yet another of pots and pans, oh I do so miss Turkey. Happy creating. love randomrose

  5. Actually my city is very big and there are so many alternatives for stationary shops. I think I can guess where you bought your pencils. It should be other side of my city, I mean in European side. I want to cross to this side, but after the religious festival. But yes, it is so enjoyable and so exciting to create something like that. Thank you, Have a nice and enjoyable day, with my love, nia

      • You’re too sweet! I got your email Rose but when I try to mail you back it bounces back undeliverable. Something about my Internet Service provider’s network being blocked, etc. etc. Thank you for your thoughtfullness, but I can’t feel right accepting. Please let me know when they are available for purchase! I will enjoy them from your blog for now. 🙂

Comments are closed.