My treasure book of prompts for writing

I made this little box from book board, painted it black and collaged it with a wrapping paper I received on a gift from my daughter who lives in Holland (the paper itself was an inspiration). Tore letters from magazines and used a white gel pen for decoration then put five coats of varnish on it. It is a very sturdy little box. I love the gold elastic for ties, easy on and easy off.

Here in Australia we have ‘free’ postcards usually on stands outside galleries, theatres and some shopping centres. I collect them, cut them up to 6.5cm x 10cm (2.5″ x 4″) and keep them in my box. When I need a prompt or inspiration for writing, I either shuffle them and choose blind or sort through them until something catches my eye. I also use these when I am talking to groups about ‘Inspirations for writer’s block’.

I cut some into abstract or obscure pictures for when I am feeling like a challenge.

If you see any that might inspire you to write,  I would love to see what you get from it.

 

One thought on “My treasure book of prompts for writing

  1. Oh, dear Rose, this is so beautiful and so inspirational. All your creative works make me to do something, I have already inspired by all your beautiful posts. You are amazing. How I love to visit your blog, I wished to be there and to learn more from you. Thank you so much dear Rose, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

Comments are closed.