Chuang Tzu tells us:

I lead a full and wonderful life, so full that I have trouble prioritizing. This morning I decided to ‘journal’ my worries of what to do next. I should do things faster so I can fit everything in. What should I do first, second, third? Why do I start something then stop halfway and start something else? Then I think of another dozen things..(a) I need to do and (b) I would love to do. Why do I keep changing from this to that? In the end I closed my journal non the wiser.

Coffee time followed with the next chapter of my wonderful book. “The Tao of Writing” by Dr. Ralph L. Wahlstrom. I was ready to begin chapter 6 – ‘Writing is Change’ – Transformations –  and this is how it starts:

Chuang Tzu tells us:

Nothing is static. There is no end or beginning to the Tao. Things indeed die and are born, not reaching a perfect state which can be relied on. Now there is emptiness, and now fullness-they do not continue in one form. The years cannot be reproduced; time cannot be arrested. Decay and growth, fullness and emptiness, when they end, begin again. It is thus that we describe the method of great righteousness and discourse about the principle pervading all things. The life of things is like the hurrying and galloping along of a horse. With every movement there is change; with every moment there is alteration. You have only to be allowing this course of natural transformation to be going on. (Chuang Tzu, verse 4-5).

I believe in that saying ‘When the student is ready, the teacher appears’. Well, I took from that opening the answer to my dilemma. To me it was saying, let is flow, there is no right, no wrong, there is only natural transformation of things and life. I went back to my journal and stated: The only priorities for me are the things that cannot wait (ie deadlines, appointments etc.) The rest will flow in their own time and if something doesn’t get finished, it was never meant to be either at that particular time or not at all.

 

